Are Bobs Red Mill Steel Cut Oats Vegan?
Yes! Bobs Red Mill Steel Cut Oats are vegetarian & vegan friendly, meaning they do not include eggs, dairy or Honey.
What's the difference between Bobs Red Mill rolled oats, Scottish oats & steel cut oats?
Rolled oats are made by stabilising the whole oat groats, followed by steaming and rolling the oats to the desired thickness. This method is used for quick, regular and thick rolled oats. Bobs Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and Scottish oats are made from the stabilised oat groat which is then cut. The steel cut oats are cut into large pieces which produces a chewier texture oatmeal, while Scottish oats are actually stone ground on mills to produce a nice, creamy porridge.
Also known as Irish oats or pinhead oats, steel cut oats have a firmer “bite” than traditional rolled oats too, and can also be used in savoury dishes like risotto.
Are Bobs Red Mill Steel Cut Oats gluten free?
Oats themselves are naturally Gluten Free but, as with all foods, there are also some concerns with oatmeal that gluten intolerant people will want to be aware of to avoid any potential issues. Although most oats are safe for gluten intolerant individuals, cross-contamination can occur in facilities or even in fields where wheat, rye or barley are also present. With this in mind it is advised to choose Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Old Fashioned Wholegrain Rolled Oats 397g if you're seeking a gluten free certified alternative.