Are Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Old Fashioned Wholegrain Rolled Oats Vegan?
Yes! Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Old Fashioned Wholegrain Rolled Oats are vegetarian & vegan friendly, meaning it they not include eggs, dairy or Honey.
What's the difference between Bobs Red Mill rolled oats, Scottish oats & steel cut oats?
Rolled oats are made by stabilising the whole oat groats, followed by steaming and rolling the oats to the desired thickness. This method is used for quick, regular and thick rolled oats. Bobs Red Mill Steel Cut Oats 680g and Scottish oats are made from the stabilised oat groat which is then cut. The steel cut oats are cut into large pieces which produces a chewier texture oatmeal, while Scottish oats are actually stone ground on mills to produce a nice, creamy porridge.
How do Bobs Red Mill keep these gluten free oats free from gluten?
Oats themselves are naturally gluten free but, as with all foods, there are also some concerns with oatmeal that gluten intolerant people will want to be aware of to avoid any potential issues.
Although most oats are safe for gluten intolerant individuals, cross-contamination can occur in facilities or even in fields where wheat, rye or barley are also present. Oats require special care to ensure that they are safely free from gluten. Bobs Red Mill only work with oat suppliers who are committed to practices for eliminating the presence of gluten. These suppliers are innovative in controlling the presence of gluten through a variety of methods, including crop rotation management plans and the use of optical sorting technology. Regardless of these suppliers’ chosen methods for meeting Bob's gluten free specifications, Bobs Red Mill insist that each lot is tested & confirmed gluten free before they are shipped to them.